History of St. Monica's Parish
St. Monica's Parish occupies a unique place in the history of the City of Toronto and in the life of the Church. It was established in 1906 through the generosity of Mr. Eugene O'Keefe. The name Saint Monica was given in honour of Eugene O'Keefe's wife, Helen, who had a great devotion and admiration for St. Monica. It was to be built in Eglinton, Ontario, in the "far northern suburbs" of Toronto, and was to serve the needs of all Catholics living north of St. Clair Avenue.
St. Monica's Parish is the "Mother Church" of mid-Toronto --- Mother Church of the parishes of Our Lady Perpetual Help, Blessed Sacrament, St. Anselm's, and Our Lady of the Assumption.
The present Church was erected in 1959 and is a modified cruciform design. The interior of the Church has undergone several renovations since then.
St. Monica's Parish is currently on her 13th Pastor in its rich history:
1906-1908 Rev. James F. Player, C.S.B
1908-1910 Rev. Patrick J. Bench, D.P.
1910-1921 Rev. James B. Dollard, D.P.
1921-1957 Rev. Hugh J. Murray
1957-1972 Rev. Edward T. Madigan
1972-1980 Rev. Thomas F. Hayes
1980-1984 Rev. Walter B. Kerr, P.H.
1984-1995 Rev. G Wm O'Brien, P.H.
1995-1996 Rev. J. Bernard Canning
1996-2001 Rev. Wilfred J. McAneney
2001-2003 Rev. Vincent Nguyen (Administrator)
2003-2013 Rev. Joseph D. Kelly
2013- Rev. Damian C. Young-Sam-You